Skip to content

A really inconvenient truth

February 27, 2007

I’m old enough to remember former President Jimmy Carter telling the nation that due to the Arab oil embargo we all had to save energy. If we could just do that, everything would be all right. I can still see him, sitting in front of a fireplace, wearing a sweater, telling us that because of the oil embargo, we all had to learn to consume less energy. That fireside chat was very persuasive: If a sitting President could wear a sweater, rather than crank the heater up, by golly, so could I.

For one moment in time, Jimmy Carter walked the walk, and we all tried to follow his lead. By following the President’s example, we reduced our energy consumption. That fireside chat and his involvement in Habitat for Humanity may well be the only two things President Carter did right, but I respect him for both.

The lessons of the early 70s are still with me today. I wear a sweatshirt and sweatpants in the house rather than crank the heater up. My electric bill last month was $51.65. My gas bill was $88.52. I go through about 15 gallons of gasoline every two weeks. I’ll admit I could probably trim my energy use a bit more, but I’m not willing to give up my car and take up horseback riding just yet. In addition, when summer comes, don’t even ask me to give up my air conditioner!

I’ve tried to do my part for the environment as well. There is no recycling program where I live now. Rather than simply throw it in the dumpster, I sort my recyclables and when I feel there’s an adequate amount, I drive the 10 miles to a recycling center, where I pay them to take my reusable treasures. In years past, I’ve taken part in campaigns to clean up the Chesapeake Bay. I’ve suffered tired, aching muscles and sunburn picking up other peoples’ trash, because it was the right thing to do.

Many people enjoy telling other people how to live. Some employ the “sky is falling” method of convincing others to do things that they themselves are unwilling to do. Many legitimate celebrities take up charitable causes, because they think it’s the right thing to do. You can respect some of them for their charitable works. Yet other celebrities take up causes because it makes them look good in the press. The latter are hypocrites in my book.

One hypocrite in particular is on my mind tonight. This wannabe’s claim to fame is that he’s a loser who makes a living promoting junk science. I could understand Hollyweird types throwing a little gold his way if he actually deserved it.

Al Gore has never walked the walk. He tells everyone on the planet to live a carbon neutral lifestyle. He tells us to consume less energy. Yet he consistently demonstrates his lack of commitment to his own cause.

This story is the only “Inconvenient Truth” Al Gore can lay claim to. Don’t take my word for it, read the article and judge for yourself. I don’t think a rational person can take this guy seriously.

My advice for “Prince Albert:” Lead by example.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2007 10:39 am

    You keep forgetting that the way liberal, tree hugging, granola eating bleeding hearts live their lives: “DO AS I SAY BUT NOT AS I DO….BECAUSE I KNOW BETTER AND I AM SMARTER THAN YOU.”

Leave a Reply

