Skip to content

“Hi. How are you?”

February 23, 2007

Ever wonder what would happen if you gave a straight answer when someone you work with or a neighbor asks how you’re doing? The potential fallout of that honest answer is more than enough to make you say “fine and you?” You just avoided the truth. You didn’t exactly lie, right?

Friends on the other hand expect honesty. After all, what are friends for, if not to share good times and bad times? If a friend knows that something is bothering you, and all you can do is give a lame answer like “fine and you?” your relationship may start getting a bit chilly.

Let’s suppose for a moment that the reason you’re upset is because of some information that if revealed would be harmful to the wellbeing of that very friend?

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been in that situation at least once more than I should ever have to be.

So the question… do you say something, knowing that your words will cause pain, or do you just smile and dummy up?

Until next time

/sec

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nomad permalink
    February 24, 2007 9:44 pm

    I had this very conversation with a friend of mine not too long ago. To me, it depends on the depth of the friendship with the other person, and other circumstances. For example, he told me that he saw the wife of a friend doing something she shouldn’t have been doing and wondered if he should tell his friend. That, in my opinion, depends on how close you are to both people (or not) and the consequences of speaking up.

  2. chosun1 permalink*
    February 24, 2007 10:14 pm

    Exactly the type of situation I was writing about. I know both of them, and anything I say will lead them down the irreversible path to divorce. I’m really torn on this one 😦

  3. February 24, 2007 10:39 pm

    Well, if you know both of them, can’t you confront the offending party? Again, that depends on how well you know them.

  4. chosun1 permalink*
    February 24, 2007 10:52 pm

    I would also be betraying the trust of another person who frst brought the situation to my attention. There’s no easy way out of this for me. So I’ll just watch and wait.

Leave a Reply

